West Seattle drums up many things to mind but not very often is a festival in that list. Started back in 1983 the West Seattle Summer Festival has continued to drive home the local mentality in regards to good food, fine arts, and just having a great time in July. Included during the festival will live music, art dive, family fun zone, kids hands on art fun, a pet adoption and pet workshop, and so much more.

West Seattle Festival circa '06, courtesy of kexp.org

Here is that they had to say about themselves via their website.

“In 1983, West Seattle merchants were looking for opportunities to promote the Junction and bring in more business. A local business owner, Margaret Miaullis, came up with the idea and initiated and organized the first Junction Merchants’ Sidewalk Sale.  Well-received, the sale continued year after year and became an annual Junction celebration. Once a modest community event, over the years more and more activities were added, and a larger audience was attracted, and today it is renowned as the West Seattle Summer Fest, voted “favorite annual event” by Herald-News readers and attracting visitors from the entire Puget Sound region.  Margaret’s passion for her community and her adaptable, willing attitude was the festival’s foundation, and her spirit, dedication and commitment kept it going and insured its success for 21 years until her retirement in 2004.  

The Junction Association’s goal is to continue producing and growing the festival with the same integrity that Margaret did for so many years.  This year a number of changes to improve the festival have been implemented and we’re very excited about this year’s event.  We hope you are, too.”

A relevant point to mention is the Festival also providing spaces for beer gardens of sorts for local sponsor Georgetown Brewing Co. and national sponsor brewery Miller.

“Aside from the many great Junction restaurants participating, look for North and South beer gardens, one at either end the Festival, offering great beer from our Sponsors, Georgetown Brewing Company and Miller Brewing Company! Please, no pups in the pubs!
• North Beer Garden, Eagles Parking Lot
Friday thru Sunday, all day
• South Beer Garden, Technical Analysis Parking Lot
Friday thru Sunday, all day”

Cheers

Related

West Seattle Summer Festival
4210 S.W. Oregon Street, Suite A Seattle, WA 98116

Georgetown Brewing Co.
5840 Airport Way South Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 766-8055

Miller Brewing Co.

West Seattle Summer Festival Live Music

West Seattle Summer Festival Activities and additional Entertainment

UPDATE

As soon as I notified one of the coordinators of the Summer Festival I received this follow-up regarding the music line up. Please note, some of these may or may not be listed within the West Seattle Summer Festival’s website.

Mudhoney (www.myspace.com/mudhoney)
Mark Pickerel & His Praying Hands(www.myspace.com/markpickerelandhisprayinghands)
The Magic Mirrors (www.myspace.com/themagicmirrors)
The Dimes (www.myspace.com/thedimes)
McTuff (www.myspace.com/mctuffmusic)
70 Proof (1970’s guitar rock cover songs performed by Andrew McKeag & Jason Finn of The Presidents, Mike Musburger of The Posies, Kurt Bloch from The Fastbacks, Ben London from Alcohol Funnycar and special guests!)
Thee Sgt Major III (www.myspace.com/sgtmajortheband)
Super Sonic Soul Pimps (www.myspace.com/intellijamus)
Black Panties (www.myspace.com/blackpantiesrock)
The Tripwires (www.myspace.com/thetripwires)
Team Gina (www.myspace.com/teamgina)
Derby (www.myspace.com/derbyrock)
We Are Golden (www.myspace.com/wearegoldenmusic)
The Lonely Forest (www.myspace.com/thelonelyforest)
Kim Virant (www.myspace.com/kimvirant)
Trombone Cake (www.myspace.com/trombonecake2007)
Kristen Ward (www.myspace.com/kristenwardmusic)
Capping Day (www.myspace.com/cappingday)
Green Pajamas (www.myspace.com/greenpajamas)
Carrie Clark & The Lonesome Lovers (www.myspace.com/carrieclark)
Strange Jerome (www.myspace.com/strangejerome)
Mighty Shiny (www.myspace.com/mightyshiny)
Half Light (www.myspace.com/halflightseattle)
Olympic Sound Collective (www.myspace.com/olympicsoundcollective)
Hurricane Chaser (www.myspace.com/hurricanechasermusic)
Swamp Soul (www.swampsoulband.com/music.html)
Gunbunny (www.myspace.com/wearegunbunny)
Pillow Army (www.myspace.com/pillowarmy)
Ranger & The Re-Arrangers (www.myspace.com/rangerandtherearrangers)
The Toucans (www.tradebit.com/filedetail.php/1559701-toucans-steel-drum-band)
Supermassive (www. supermassivemusic.com)
Caspar Babypants (www.babypantsmusic.com)

UPDATE

     A follow-up has been issued by Jason regarding the pulling out by one band and the request to join by another. Please read below for the updates as well as above since I will be updating the previous list to include the new addition.

The Lonely Forest (www.myspace.com/thelonelyforest) is out due in part to too many scheduling conflicts.

Caspar Babypants (www.babypantsmusic.com) is a new side project from Chris Ballew of the Presidents Of The United States Of America and has requested inclusion at the Festival.

UPDATE

This was posted on Elliott Bay Breweries “West Seattle” Blog.

“Beginning on Thursday night, July 9th we'll be bumping out the BEER GARDEN in front of the WS pub and serving beers plus menu items under the sun and stars. Music on both Friday and Saturday night will be provided by Omar Torrez, a perennial pub favorite. Listen to some of Omar's music.
The beer garden will be open all weekend during the 2009 West Seattle Summer Fest! Check out their web site for the rest of the weekend's musical line-up.”

Cheers,

Please visit our sponsors